Rewordin
  • Features
    ⚡ Bulk Gift Card API🔌 HRIS Integrations🌍 Global Rewards🎁 Reward Marketplace📊 Analytics & ReportingView all features →
  • Use Cases
    💰 Sales Teams📣 Marketing Teams🤝 Channel Partners👥 HR & People Ops⚙️ Engineering Teams🎧 Customer Support📊 Finance & AccountingView all use cases →
  • Resources
    🎁 Employee Rewards👏 Employee Recognition📈 Employee Engagement🏭 Industries🏆 Customers📝 Blog💰 Pricing🏢 About Us🧮 ROI Calculator
Log In
FeaturesBulk Gift Card API NewUse CasesEmployee RewardsEmployee RecognitionEmployee EngagementIndustriesBlogAboutROI CalculatorPricing
Log In
RewordinREWORDIN

The global employee rewards platform. Recognize, reward, and retain your best talent worldwide.

Platform

FeaturesBulk Gift Card APIHow It WorksIntegrationsPricingRewordin vs BonuslySecurityAll Use Cases

Solutions

HR & People OpsSales TeamsEngineering TeamsMarketing TeamsCustomer SupportFinance & AccountingChannel Partners

Resources

Employee RewardsEmployee RecognitionEmployee EngagementIndustriesROI CalculatorBlogRecognition Software 2026Tax-Free Gifts PolandROI of RecognitionRewards Program GuideHRIS Integration Guide

Company

AboutCustomers
hello@rewordin.com
Wrocław, Poland

Get the latest insights on employee rewards.

© 2026 Rewordin. All rights reserved.

Privacy PolicyTerms of ServiceSecurity

Book a Demo

We'll contact you within 24 hours to schedule your demo

Software ComparisonTalent AcquisitionEmployee Referrals·September 13, 2026·16 min read

Best Employee Referral Software 2026: 10 Platforms Compared — Only One Publishes a Price, and Your ATS May Already Do the Job

TL;DR

One of ten vendors publishes a full price list. ERIN is the only platform here with public, self-serve pricing: a free tier that stays free until your first three referral hires, then Refer at $449, $799 or $1,499 per month billed annually depending on hiring volume. We costed all three tiers out. Everyone else says "book a demo".

ERIN prices on hires, not headcount — which inverts the usual intuition. Across its published range the cost per employee falls 33% ($5.39 to $3.60 a year) while the cost per hire falls only 17% ($107 to $89). A big, slow-hiring employer gets referral software for pocket change per head. A small, fast-hiring one pays the most per hire.

Check what you already own before you buy anything. Workable and Greenhouse both ship referral portals, trackable links and referral reporting inside the ATS you are already paying for. For a company under roughly 200 people running a handful of referral hires a year, a second system is usually a solution to a problem the ATS already solves.

And software is not why referral programmes fail. 71% of employers run one, over 80% pay bonuses above $1,000 a hire — and only 2% say the programme is meeting its hiring goals. At ERIN's most-quoted tier the software is under 9% of the cost of a referral hire. The bonus is the programme; the platform is the rounding error.

Employee referral software sells itself on a number almost nobody disputes: referred hires are cheaper, faster and stickier than any other source. That part is well evidenced — the peer-reviewed work we cover in our referral programme statistics round-up puts referred workers 10–30% less likely to quit. What is much less examined is whether the software is what stands between you and those hires, and in a category where nine of ten vendors will not print a price, that question is hard to answer from a website.

This comparison is for talent acquisition leads, HR ops and founders buying for roughly 50–20,000 employees. Every vendor claim below is attributed to that vendor's own published page and dated to September 2026. Where a vendor publishes no figure we say so, rather than importing a stale number from an aggregator — and in this category that omission turns out to be the single most useful thing to record.

1 of 10
Platforms here publishing a full price list on their own site
$3.60
ERIN's lowest published cost per employee, per year
8.7%
Share of a referral hire's cost that is software, at a $1,000 bonus
$47,940
Salary at which one avoided agency fee pays for a year of ERIN Refer
How we ranked — and why there are no star ratings

We rank within categories, not across them. A dedicated referral platform and an ATS referral module are not competing for the same budget line, and a sourcing engine that mines employee networks is a different purchase again. Inside each category we rank on what you can verify before a sales call: who the vendor states the product is for, what is published about price, how a referral is actually submitted, whether bonus administration is automated or merely reported, and what the vendor puts its own name behind in the way of customers and results.

We do not publish star ratings. We have not run a first-party review panel across these ten, and reprinting G2 or Capterra scores as our own rating would breach Google's review-snippet guidance, which requires marked-up ratings to be genuine and earned first-hand. Where a vendor states its own customer count or results, we report it as the vendor's claim and label it as such.

Verification disclosure. ERIN's pricing was read directly from the live pricing page, including stepping its hiring-volume slider through all three positions to capture every published tier — erinapp.com refuses automated fetches, so this was done in a real browser. Radancy's employee-referrals page publishes no customer names and no statistics at all. Teamable names no customers; its testimonials carry first names and job titles only. Greenhouse publishes no price.

Rewordin is not in this list. We do not run referral programmes. Section 7 states plainly which part of the problem a rewards platform does and does not touch.


1. First: which of these three things are you actually buying?

Search "employee referral software" and three product categories come back on one results page, described in near-identical language. They solve different problems and none of them degrades gracefully into the others.

CategoryWhat it actually doesWho buys itWhat it does not doIn this list
Dedicated referral platformBranded referral portal, trackable share links, automated eligibility rules, campaign and leaderboard tooling, and bonus administration through to a payable recordTalent acquisition, HR opsSource candidates on its own. It mobilises the people you already employ — if nobody engages, it has nothing to show youERIN, EmployeeReferrals.com, Radancy, Real Links, Boon
Network mining & sourcingScans employees' social and professional networks, matches open roles to people inside them, then runs outreach — the employee may never touch itSourcing teams, recruiting opsRun a referral programme. There is no bonus ledger, no eligibility rule engine and often no employee-facing portal at allTeamable; ERIN Reach and Real Links straddle both
Referrals as a featureA referral portal, trackable links and referral-source reporting built into an ATS or talent-engagement suite you already licenseAnyone who already owns the suiteGamify, automate bonus payment, or push campaigns to employees who never log into the ATSWorkable, Greenhouse, Sense, Hellora

The expensive mistake is buying the first category when you needed the third, and the second-most expensive is buying the second when you wanted the first. Sourcing tools produce candidates without producing a programme; referral platforms produce a programme that still needs your employees to care.


2. Who publishes a price — the whole answer in one table

This is the shortest section in the article and probably the most useful. Every entry below was checked against the vendor's own site in September 2026.

PlatformCategoryPublished price?Free tier?What the price is indexed to
ERINDedicatedYes — full public listYes, until your first 3 referral hiresHires per year (with a headcount cap attached)
WorkableATS featureYes, but for the whole ATS15-day trialHeadcount band
EmployeeReferrals.comDedicatedNo — demo onlyNot statedNot stated
Radancy Employee ReferralsDedicatedNo — demo onlyNot statedNot stated
Real LinksDedicated / hybridNo — contact salesNot statedNot stated
BoonDedicatedNo, but states "flexible terms" with no mandatory annual contractNot statedNot stated
TeamableNetwork miningNoNot statedNot stated
SenseSuite featureNoNot statedNot stated
Hellora (formerly Eqo)Suite featureNoNot statedNot stated
GreenhouseATS featureNoNot statedNot stated

Do not take referral-software prices from review aggregators. While researching this article we found ERIN's pricing widely reported elsewhere as $999 per month for up to 1,000 employees. ERIN's own live pricing page says something different in every particular: the entry paid tier is $449 per month, the 1,000-employee cap belongs to that tier rather than a $999 one, and the price is indexed to hires per year, not headcount. The aggregate figure is not a rounding difference — it describes a pricing model ERIN no longer uses. Read the vendor's page, on the day you are buying.


3. The only published price list in the category, costed out

Because ERIN is the one vendor here that prints every tier, its price list is the only place the category's economics are visible at all. It is worth working through properly — not because ERIN is necessarily your answer, but because it is the only public benchmark you can hold a quote up against.

ERIN sizes Refer with a three-position slider on hiring volume. Each position carries both a hires-per-year figure and an employee cap, and ERIN publishes its own cost-per-hire alongside. All figures below are billed annually.

Tier positionHires / yearEmployee capPublished price / monthAnnual cost (our arithmetic)ERIN's stated cost / hire
Refer (small)50up to 1,000$449$5,388$107
Refer (mid, "most popular")100up to 2,500$799$9,588$95
Refer (large)200up to 5,000$1,499$17,988$89
EnterpriseUnlimitedUnlimitedCustom——

The published per-hire figures are simply the annual cost divided by the hire count, rounded down: $5,388 ÷ 50 = $107.76, $9,588 ÷ 100 = $95.88, $17,988 ÷ 200 = $89.94. That consistency is a useful signal in itself — the annual figure is the real price, and the monthly number is a presentation of it.

The finding: this category prices on hires, and almost every other HR tool prices on heads

That difference is not cosmetic, and it produces an outcome most buyers do not model. Divide each tier by its own employee cap and the picture inverts:

TierAnnual costCost per employee / yearCost per hire
50 hires / 1,000 employees$5,388$5.39$107
100 hires / 2,500 employees$9,588$3.84$95
200 hires / 5,000 employees$17,988$3.60$89
Change across the range3.34×−33%−17%

Quadrupling your hiring volume costs you 3.34× the money, so there is a volume discount — but it is a thin one, worth 17% across a 4× range. The per-employee figure moves twice as far, because the headcount cap grows 5× while the price grows 3.34×.

Referral software is cheap per head and expensive per hire. That means the worst-value buyer in the category is a small company hiring fast — exactly the company most likely to be sold it.

A 5,000-person employer with steady attrition pays $3.60 per employee per year, which is less than most companies spend per head on coffee in a fortnight. A 300-person company hiring 50 people in a growth year pays $5,388 for a headcount cap it uses 30% of, at $107 a hire. Both are paying ERIN's published rate. Only one of them is getting a bargain.

The second finding: the software is under 9% of what a referral hire costs you

Referral platforms are sold against recruiter time and agency spend, but the largest line in a referral programme is the bonus, and it is not close. Our referral statistics round-up found that more than 80% of employers pay referral bonuses above $1,000 a hire. Put that next to ERIN's published $95.88:

Referral bonus per hireERIN Refer per hire (100-hire tier)Total per referral hireSoftware as a share of it
$1,000$95.88$1,095.888.7%
$2,000$95.88$2,095.884.6%
$5,000$95.88$5,095.881.9%

This reframes the buying question entirely. If you are agonising over a $4,000 difference between two referral platforms while paying $1,500 a head in bonuses on 80 referral hires a year, you are optimising a $7,700 line item and ignoring a $120,000 one. The right question is not which platform is cheapest. It is whether the platform will change how many referrals you get, and whether your bonus design is the thing actually holding the programme back. We cover bonus design in our guide to employee referral bonuses.

The third finding: break-even is less than one avoided agency placement

The cleanest justification for referral software is not recruiter hours saved — those are hard to audit — but agency fees avoided. Contingency recruitment fees typically run 15–25% of first-year salary; we use 20% below as a stated assumption, not a sourced figure, and the arithmetic is shown so you can substitute your own rate.

First-year salaryAgency fee at 20%ERIN Refer, 100-hire tierPlacements you must avoid to break even
$50,000$10,000$9,5880.96
$70,000$14,000$9,5880.68
$100,000$20,000$9,5880.48
$150,000$30,000$9,5880.32

Solve it the other way and the break-even lands on a memorable number: at a 20% fee, a single avoided placement on a $47,940 salary pays for a full year of ERIN Refer at the 100-hire tier. Above roughly $48,000, one hire moved from an agency to a referral covers the software for the year, and everything after it is margin.

That is a low bar, and it is worth being honest about what it does and does not prove. It says the software is easy to justify on paper. It does not say the software is what moves the hire — a well-run referral programme on a spreadsheet and a Slack channel can move the same hire for nothing. What you are buying is the probability that it keeps happening after the launch enthusiasm fades, and that is a question about programme design, not about feature lists.


4. The five dedicated referral platforms

Ranked within this category only. These products exist to run a referral programme end to end: portal, links, eligibility, campaigns, bonus administration.

1. ERIN — best all-round, and the price-transparency benchmark

ERIN is the default shortlist entry, and the only vendor here you can evaluate commercially without talking to anyone. The platform splits into three products: Refer (the referral programme itself), Reach (candidate discovery inside employees' networks, with direct outreach and a stated launch without implementation), and Studio, an AI referral assistant that generates branded marketing assets, benchmarks bonuses, drafts policies and launches campaigns — included free on every plan, including the free one.

The free tier is unusually generous and deserves attention on its own: the full Refer platform, ATS and HRIS integrations, text-to-refer and no credit card, staying free until your first three referral hires. For a company that has never run a formal programme, that is a complete pilot at zero cost with a natural, non-arbitrary end point — you start paying when it has demonstrably worked three times.

Every paid Refer plan includes ATS and HRIS integrations, eligibility automation, bonus reporting and analytics, and employee live chat support; ERIN states the features are identical across all three sizes, so the slider buys capacity rather than capability. Enterprise adds unlimited hires and employees, custom integrations, SSO and advanced security, and a dedicated CSM.

Where it is weak: the hires-per-year model punishes a small company in a hiring spike, as section 3 shows, and ERIN publishes no customer names or outcome statistics on the pricing page we verified. Reach is a separate credit-based product, so the network-mining capability is not included in the Refer price.

2. EmployeeReferrals.com — best for large frontline and healthcare estates

The entry with the most substantial published track record. The company states that clients have hired over 100,000 referred candidates on the platform, and it names real customers rather than logos-without-attribution: Memorial Health, Pilot Flying J, Pride Industries, Kettering Health and Cleveland-Cliffs. That customer list is structurally different from the SaaS-heavy rosters elsewhere in this category — hospital systems, truck stops, steel, and a social enterprise — which is the strongest available evidence that the product works for distributed, deskless, high-volume workforces rather than only for head-office hiring.

Capabilities are the full programme set: ATS, HRIS and payroll integration, fully customisable branded programmes, a mobile progressive web app, auto-sharing to social media with tracking, leaderboards and gamification, campaign and competition tools, and multiple reward options including cash bonuses, points and custom prizes. Published outcome claims are a 50% reduction in admin time and a 20% reduction in agency and job board spending; both are the vendor's own figures.

Where it is weak: no published pricing and no stated company-size parameters, so you cannot tell from the site whether a 400-person employer is in or out of its market.

3. Radancy Employee Referrals — best for multi-country, multilingual programmes

Formerly Firstbird, now part of Radancy's wider talent acquisition cloud. The differentiator is reach across languages and jurisdictions: the product is offered in Dutch, French, German, Portuguese and Spanish alongside English, which matters more than it sounds. A referral programme is one of the few HR systems that has to work for every employee rather than every manager, and an English-only portal quietly excludes most of a European or Latin American workforce from the programme you just paid for.

The reward model is the most sophisticated on paper: segmented rewards by role and region, micro-rewards, and staggered payouts. Staggered payouts — part on start, part at 90 days — are the standard defence against referral churn, and region-segmented rewards are how you avoid paying the same nominal bonus in Zurich and Lisbon. On the ATS side there is automatic job import, candidate export, real-time status syncing and SSO.

Where it is weak: the employee-referrals page we verified publishes no customer names and no statistics at all — unusual for an enterprise product, and it leaves you with nothing to check the pitch against. No published pricing.

4. Real Links — best when referrals and internal mobility are one programme

A UK platform that sells referrals and internal mobility as a single system, which is a genuinely different proposition: the same engine that matches an open role to someone in an employee's network also matches it to the employee themselves. For organisations where the retention conversation and the hiring conversation are run by the same team, collapsing those into one platform removes a real seam.

The matching is skills-based by design and explicitly excludes relationship-based matching, which the company frames as a bias-reduction measure — a defensible position, given that the standard criticism of referral hiring is that it reproduces the existing shape of the workforce. There is a complementary recruiter sourcing tool that lets HR request referrals while anonymising candidate data, and analytics dashboards that include diversity and inclusion metrics. Rewards run on points redeemed in a customisable reward shop, with leaderboards for individuals and departments. Integrations are enterprise-weighted: Workday, LinkedIn, Oleeo, Teamtailor, SuccessFactors, TribePad, Lever and eArcu.

The published customer evidence is a single named case: Product Madness, which states that within the first 12 weeks it had already seen more referral hires than in the entirety of the previous year, alongside a talent pool of nearly 40,000 candidates. One named case with a concrete comparison is worth more than five anonymous percentages, but it is still one case.

Where it is weak: no published pricing, and a smaller published customer base than the enterprise entries. The bias argument cuts both ways — stripping relationship signal out of matching removes the very thing that makes a referral a referral, and the vendor does not publish evidence on how match acceptance is affected.

5. Boon — best for speed to launch and referrals from outside your payroll

Boon's two distinguishing claims are both operational rather than featural. First, speed: it states companies can be receiving referrals within 3 days, explicitly contrasted against a stated 4–8 weeks for competitors. Second, and more interesting, the referral pool is not limited to employees — the platform supports employee referrals, external referrals, social sharing and community referrals, which opens the programme to alumni, contractors, customers and professional communities.

That second point is strategically underrated. Most referral programmes are capped by headcount: a 200-person company has 200 networks to draw on, and no software changes that arithmetic. A programme that can accept and attribute a referral from someone who does not work for you removes the cap — and immediately creates a payment problem we return to in section 7, because your payroll cannot pay a stranger.

Elsewhere: AI-driven matching that Boon states surfaces candidates on experience rather than who they know, 50+ ATS, HRIS and collaboration integrations including Workday, Greenhouse, Slack and Teams, gamification through badges, leaderboards and challenges, multi-language support and white-label customisation, and flexible rewards spanning cash, gift cards and experiences. Stated results are a 45% increase in referrals, 5× more referrals per job, a 52% reduction in time-to-hire and 40% cost savings per hire — all vendor figures, none independently verified.

Commercially it is the only vendor besides ERIN to say anything useful about terms: flexible terms with no mandatory annual contract. In a category where everyone else assumes an annual commitment, the option to leave is worth real money on a first programme.

Where it is weak: no customer names published on the homepage, and no price.


5. Referrals inside something bigger — including software you already pay for

These five are not dedicated referral platforms, and ranking them against ERIN would be a category error. They are here because for a large share of readers one of them is already installed, already paid for, and already capable of running a credible referral programme.

6. Workable — the ATS that publishes a price and ships referrals

Workable is a full recruiting and HR platform with built-in referral tooling: employees share personalised job links by email, social or Slack, referrals are tracked automatically through the hiring pipeline, and a Referrals Report synced to the pipeline breaks candidates down by channel — internal applications, direct referrals, social shares — with referrals-per-employee analysis for managing rewards.

It is also the second platform in this article with a public price list, though for the whole ATS rather than for referrals alone. Published tiers for the entry 1–20 employee band are Standard at $299/month ($3,588/year), Premier at $599/month ($7,188/year) and Enterprise at $719/month ($8,628/year), with a dropdown stepping through headcount bands up to 1,000+; annual billing saves a stated 20%. There is a 15-day free trial of the Standard feature set with no credit card.

Where it is weak: referral tooling inside an ATS is reporting-led rather than engagement-led. There is no bonus ledger with eligibility automation, no campaign engine, no leaderboard culture, and critically no way to reach the employee who never logs into the ATS — which is most of your company.

7. Greenhouse — enterprise ATS with a real referral module

Greenhouse ships more referral capability than most buyers realise: every employee can generate a trackable referral link with LinkedIn, Facebook and X sharing; there is a branded referral submission portal with job-specific forms on a mobile-friendly interface; employees can upload a referral's CV and cover letter directly; referrers get email notifications at configurable stage transitions; recruiters can tag referral sources for attribution; and the reporting module tracks referral volume, conversion rate and time-to-hire by source. Companies can publish their referral programme guidelines inside Greenhouse itself.

The customer base is blue-chip — the NFL, Coursera, Anthropic, Revlon, HelloFresh, trivago, Gong and Ocado Group among those named — and Ocado Group is cited for a near-30% reduction in time-to-hire.

Where it is weak: no published pricing at all, and the same structural limit as Workable — bonus administration and engagement mechanics are where the third-party platforms earn their fee. Greenhouse's own integration ecosystem tacitly concedes this: ERIN, Hellora and others exist specifically to bolt automation and bonus tracking onto it.

8. Sense — best for high-volume and staffing-agency hiring

Sense is an AI talent engagement platform rather than a referral product, and referral management is one module inside conversational CRM, AI interviewing, screening, scheduling and multi-channel messaging over SMS, WhatsApp, email and voice. It serves both enterprise TA teams and staffing agencies across healthcare, manufacturing, logistics, retail and hospitality — the sectors where hiring is continuous and volume is the whole problem.

Named customers include Kaiser Permanente, Dell Technologies, HCA Healthcare, Hormel Foods, Insight Global and Manpower Group, from a stated 1,000+ clients. Published claims include 30–75% reductions in time-to-hire, a 40% increase in candidate conversion and 18 hours saved per recruiter per week.

Where it is weak: if referrals are the problem you are solving, this is an enormous amount of platform to buy to get at one module. No published pricing.

9. Hellora (formerly Eqo) — the frontline referral app that became something else

Worth including precisely because of what happened to it. Eqo was a well-regarded text-first referral product built for frontline and deskless workers — refer by text, no desktop portal, no login. eqorefer.com now issues a 301 redirect to hellora.com, and the product there is positioned as an AI recruiting CRM for healthcare hiring, built on database rediscovery and AI sourcing from a stated 40M+ licensed clinicians. Employee referral automation survives as one feature among many, and a Greenhouse referral app is still published.

Named customers are substantial and sector-consistent: Fairview, BrightSpring Health Services, Ascension at Home, BJC HealthCare, Saint Luke's Health System, Children's Hospital Los Angeles and Mercy.

Where it is weak — and the general lesson: if you shortlisted this product as a frontline referral app on the strength of a 2025 review round-up, the thing you shortlisted no longer exists in that form. Referral software is a small category that vendors repeatedly outgrow or reposition away from, so verify that the product still is what the review said before you take a demo. No published pricing.

10. Teamable — network mining, not a referral programme

Listed last deliberately, because it is the entry most often mis-shortlisted. Teamable is a sourcing platform: AI-driven search across the web and across employees' networks, turning those networks into searchable talent pools, with personalised outreach composition, automated reply detection and routing, conversational AI for follow-up and scheduling, a unified pipeline view and 40+ ATS integrations. Stated scale is 1,000+ companies and 500M+ AI-enhanced candidate profiles; customer outcome claims include tripled hires per quarter and a 50% pipeline increase with a 35% diversity pipeline increase.

This is a good product at a different job. It finds people your employees know. It does not run a programme your employees participate in — there is no bonus ledger, no eligibility engine, and the employee may never be involved at all. If your problem is "we cannot find candidates", look here. If your problem is "our people do not refer", do not.

Where it is weak: no customer names are disclosed — testimonials carry first names and job titles only — and no published pricing.


6. The full comparison

PlatformBest forBonus administrationReward types statedNamed customers publishedPrice
ERINAll-round; first formal programmeEligibility automation + bonus reportingNot specifiedNot on the pages verified$0 free tier; $449–$1,499/mo
EmployeeReferrals.comLarge frontline / healthcare estatesThrough to payment, via payroll integrationCash, points, custom prizesMemorial Health, Pilot Flying J, Kettering Health, Cleveland-Cliffs, Pride IndustriesDemo only
RadancyMulti-country, multilingualSegmented, micro and staggered payoutsNot specifiedNone on the page verifiedDemo only
Real LinksReferrals + internal mobility as onePoints ledgerPoints into a customisable reward shopProduct MadnessContact sales
BoonFast launch; referrals beyond employeesAutomated through to reward distributionCash, gift cards, experiencesNone on the homepageNo price; no mandatory annual contract
WorkableYou need an ATS anywayReporting onlyn/a—From $299/mo (1–20 band)
GreenhouseEnterprise ATS estatesReporting and attribution onlyn/aNFL, Coursera, Anthropic, HelloFresh, OcadoNot published
SenseHigh-volume & staffingModule within a wider suiteNot specifiedKaiser Permanente, Dell, HCA Healthcare, Manpower GroupNot published
HelloraHealthcare recruitingReferral automation within a CRMNot specifiedFairview, BJC HealthCare, Mercy, CHLANot published
TeamableSourcing, not programmesNonen/aNone disclosedNot published
Five questions that separate a demo from a decision

1. Can an employee refer someone in under 60 seconds, on a phone, without a login? This single constraint decides participation in any workforce that is not desk-based, and it is the thing demos are worst at showing.

2. Does bonus administration end at a report, or at a payment? Most of this category tracks eligibility and hands you a list. Ask specifically who triggers the payment and how.

3. What happens when the referrer is not on your payroll? Alumni, contractors and community referrers cannot be paid through payroll. If the platform supports external referrals but not external payment, that gap is yours to fill.

4. What is included versus implemented? Ask whether implementation, ATS integration build and ongoing support are in the quoted price or billed separately. This is where a cheap-looking quote gains 30%.

5. What is the price at double our hiring volume? In a category priced on hires rather than heads, a good growth year is a price increase. Get the next tier up in writing before you sign.


7. What none of this fixes — and where a rewards platform actually sits

Rewordin is not in the ranking above, because we do not run referral programmes and selling you one would be the wrong answer. What we do run is the layer these platforms hand off to, and it is worth being precise about where the seam is.

Every platform in section 4 tracks a referral to a hire and produces a payable record. Several go further — EmployeeReferrals.com integrates with payroll, Real Links runs a points shop, Boon states gift cards and experiences as reward options. So the naive claim that "referral software does not pay the bonus" is simply not true, and we are not going to make it. The honest gaps are narrower and more specific:

The gapWhy referral platforms hit itWhat closes it
Referrers who are not on your payrollPayroll integration is the standard payment path, and payroll cannot pay an alumnus, a contractor or a community referrer. Boon explicitly supports external referrals; the payment still has to happen somewhere elseA delivery channel that does not require an employment relationship
Paying across bordersRadancy segments rewards by region, but a reward segmented for Portugal still has to arrive in Portugal, in euros, from an entity that can legally send itLocal-currency catalogue coverage in the countries you actually employ people in
SpeedA bonus routed through payroll lands on the next cycle — up to a month after the moment it was earned. That delay is one of the quieter reasons referral programmes lose momentumSame-day delivery, decoupled from the payroll calendar
Micro-rewards and staggered payouts at volumeRadancy and others support the model; the operational cost of issuing hundreds of small rewards manually is what kills it in practiceProgrammatic issuance, so a $25 thank-you costs the same to send as a $2,000 bonus

That is the layer Rewordin works in: a global gift-card catalogue with local denominations, delivered programmatically through our bulk gift card API or in bulk from a reward catalog, to a recipient who may be an employee, a contractor, a candidate or someone who has never worked for you at all. It sits after your referral platform decides who has earned what, not instead of it.

One thing it does not fix either: referral bonuses are almost always taxable compensation, and the treatment differs by country. That is worth reading before you design the bonus, not after — see the IRS rules on gift cards to employees, and our country guides for the UK and Germany.

Pay referral bonuses anywhere, on the day they are earned

Rewordin delivers gift-card rewards in local denominations across global markets — to employees, contractors and external referrers alike, through one API or one bulk order. Keep the referral platform you choose above; use us for the part that has to actually arrive.


8. How to choose, in four lines

Under ~200 employees, fewer than 20 referral hires a year: switch on what your ATS already has, or start on ERIN's free tier. Do not buy a platform yet. The constraint is participation, not tooling, and a $5,000 contract will not manufacture enthusiasm.

200–2,500 employees, a real and growing programme: ERIN is the benchmark to price everything else against, because it is the only quote you can get without a call. If a competitor cannot beat it on value, make them explain why in writing.

Large, deskless or frontline workforce: EmployeeReferrals.com has the most relevant published track record; test mobile-first submission and text-to-refer hard, because participation is the entire game and portals lose it.

Multi-country, or referrals from outside your workforce: Radancy for language and region coverage, Boon for external referral sources — and in both cases plan the payout path separately, because that is where these programmes stall.


Frequently asked questions

How much does employee referral software cost?

Only one vendor in this comparison publishes a price. ERIN charges $449, $799 or $1,499 per month billed annually, sized on hires per year (50, 100 or 200) with employee caps of 1,000, 2,500 and 5,000 respectively — working out at $107, $95 and $89 per referral hire by ERIN's own published figures. It also offers a free tier that stays free until your first three referral hires. Every other dedicated platform here — EmployeeReferrals.com, Radancy, Real Links, Boon — requires a demo to get a quote. Treat prices quoted on review aggregator sites with suspicion: several still publish an ERIN price and pricing model the company no longer uses.

Is employee referral software worth it, or can I just use a spreadsheet?

On paper the justification is easy: at a 20% contingency agency fee, avoiding a single placement on a $47,940 salary pays for a full year of ERIN's 100-hire tier. But that arithmetic proves the software is cheap, not that it is what generates the hire — a well-run programme on a spreadsheet and a Slack channel can produce the same result. The honest case for software is consistency: automated eligibility rules, campaign cadence and status updates keep a programme alive after the launch excitement fades. If your current programme is failing because employees are not engaged rather than because admin is unmanageable, software alone will not fix it.

Does my ATS already have employee referrals built in?

Very possibly. Workable ships personalised shareable job links via email, social or Slack, automatic pipeline tracking and a Referrals Report that breaks candidates down by channel with referrals-per-employee analysis. Greenhouse provides trackable referral links with social sharing, a branded referral submission portal with job-specific mobile-friendly forms, CV upload by the referrer, configurable stage-change notifications to referrers, source tagging for attribution, and referral volume, conversion and time-to-hire reporting. What ATS modules generally lack is bonus administration with eligibility automation, campaign and gamification mechanics, and any way to reach employees who never log into the ATS. Check yours before buying a second system.

What is the difference between referral software and sourcing software like Teamable?

A referral platform mobilises your employees: portal, trackable links, eligibility rules, campaigns, leaderboards and a bonus ledger. Network mining software scans employees' social and professional networks to surface matching candidates and then runs recruiter outreach — the employee may never be involved, and there is typically no bonus ledger or eligibility engine at all. Teamable sits firmly in the second group. ERIN sells both, as separate products: Refer for the programme, Reach for network discovery. Buying a sourcing tool when you wanted a referral programme is the most common mis-purchase in this category.

Which employee referral software is best for frontline or deskless workers?

EmployeeReferrals.com has the most relevant published evidence: clients have hired over 100,000 referred candidates, and its named customers — Memorial Health, Pilot Flying J, Pride Industries, Kettering Health and Cleveland-Cliffs — are hospital systems, travel centres, steel and social enterprise rather than head-office SaaS. ERIN offers text-to-refer on every plan including the free one. The test that matters is whether an employee can complete a referral in under a minute on a phone without logging into a portal; ask for that specifically in a demo, because it is the thing that decides participation and the thing demos are designed to gloss over.

How do I pay a referral bonus to someone who does not work for us?

Not through payroll, which is the standard payment path in most referral platforms. Programmes that accept referrals from alumni, contractors, customers or community members — Boon explicitly supports external referrals — need a separate delivery channel that does not depend on an employment relationship. Gift cards delivered programmatically are the common answer, because they work across borders, in local denominations, without onboarding the recipient as a payee. That is the layer Rewordin's bulk gift card API provides. Bear in mind that referral payments are usually taxable compensation for employees, and the treatment for non-employees differs again by jurisdiction — take local advice before designing the payout.

Why do so few referral software vendors publish pricing?

We cannot speak to vendor intent, only to what is observable: nine of the ten platforms in this comparison require a conversation to produce a number, and the pricing models that are visible are indexed to different things — ERIN on hires per year, Workable on headcount band. That variation makes list pricing genuinely harder to publish than in a simple per-seat category. The practical consequence for a buyer is the same either way: ERIN's public list is the only benchmark available, so use it as the anchor and require any vendor that will not publish to justify its number against it.


Methodology and sources

Every vendor claim in this article is attributed to that vendor's own published page and was retrieved in September 2026. Where a vendor publishes no figure we record the absence rather than substituting one from an aggregator. All arithmetic in section 3 is ours, computed from ERIN's published prices and shown in full so it can be checked or re-run with different assumptions.

  • ERIN — Pricing (Free tier: full Refer platform, ATS & HRIS integrations, text-to-refer, no credit card, free until first 3 referral hires. Refer: $449/mo at 50 hires/yr and up to 1,000 employees; $799/mo at 100 hires/yr and up to 2,500; $1,499/mo at 200 hires/yr and up to 5,000; all billed annually, with stated per-hire costs of $107, $95 and $89 and identical features across sizes. Enterprise: custom, unlimited hires and employees, custom integrations, SSO, dedicated CSM. ERIN Studio included free on every plan), retrieved September 2026. Retrieval note: erinapp.com returns HTTP 403 to automated fetching, so this page was read in a real browser, and the hiring-volume slider was stepped through all three positions to capture every tier rather than only the default.
  • EmployeeReferrals.com (ATS/HRIS/payroll integration, branded programmes, mobile progressive web app, auto-share with tracking, leaderboards and gamification, campaigns and competitions, cash/points/custom prizes; stated 100,000+ referred candidates hired by clients, 50% reduction in admin time, 20% reduction in agency and job board spending; customers named as Memorial Health, Pilot Flying J, Pride Industries, Kettering Health and Cleveland-Cliffs), retrieved September 2026. No price published.
  • Radancy — Employee Referrals (formerly Firstbird; automatic job import, candidate export, real-time status syncing and SSO; mobile sharing by email, social and messaging; real-time tracking, leaderboards and incentive structures; rewards segmented by role and region, micro-rewards and staggered payouts; offered in Dutch, French, German, Portuguese and Spanish), retrieved September 2026. Noted absence: no customer names and no statistics published on this page. No price published.
  • Real Links — Employee Referrals (skills-based auto-matching against employees' social networks, explicitly excluding relationship-based matching as a bias measure; points redeemed in a customisable reward shop; individual and departmental leaderboards; recruiter sourcing tool with candidate-data anonymisation; D&I analytics; integrations with Workday, LinkedIn, Oleeo, Teamtailor, SuccessFactors, TribePad, Lever and eArcu; Product Madness cited as reporting more referral hires within 12 weeks than in the whole previous year, and a talent pool of nearly 40,000), retrieved September 2026. No price published.
  • Boon (employee, external, social and community referrals; stated referrals within 3 days versus a stated 4–8 weeks for competitors; 50+ ATS, HRIS and collaboration integrations including Workday, Greenhouse, Slack and Teams; AI matching stated to surface candidates on experience rather than connections; badges, leaderboards and challenges; cash, gift card and experience rewards; multi-language and white-label; stated 45% increase in referrals, 5× more referrals per job, 52% reduction in time-to-hire, 40% cost saving per hire; flexible terms without mandatory annual contracts), retrieved September 2026. No price published; no customers named.
  • Workable — Pricing (Standard $299/mo or $3,588/yr, Premier $599/mo or $7,188/yr, Enterprise $719/mo or $8,628/yr — all at the 1–20 employee band, with a selector stepping through bands to 1,000+; annual billing stated to save up to 20%; 15-day free trial of the Standard feature set, no credit card; Workable Agent AI credits sold separately at $0.095–$0.12 per credit), retrieved September 2026, together with Workable's own referral programme documentation (personalised shareable links by email, social or Slack; automatic pipeline tracking; Referrals Report by channel with referrals-per-employee analysis).
  • Greenhouse and its published referral programme guidance (trackable per-employee referral links with LinkedIn, Facebook and X sharing; branded referral submission portal with job-specific mobile-friendly forms; referrer CV and cover letter upload; configurable stage-transition notifications to referrers; source tagging for attribution; referral volume, conversion rate and time-to-hire reporting; customers named including the NFL, Coursera, Anthropic, Revlon, HelloFresh, trivago, Gong and Ocado Group, with Ocado cited at nearly 30% time-to-hire reduction), retrieved September 2026. No price published.
  • Sense (AI talent engagement across SMS, WhatsApp, email and voice; conversational CRM, AI interviewer, screening and scheduling; employee referral management as one module; stated 1,000+ clients including Kaiser Permanente, Dell Technologies, HCA Healthcare, Hormel Foods, Insight Global and Manpower Group; stated 30–75% time-to-hire reduction, 40% candidate conversion increase, 18 recruiter hours saved per week), retrieved September 2026. No price published.
  • Hellora (AI recruiting CRM for healthcare hiring: database rediscovery via natural-language search, AI sourcing from a stated 40M+ licensed clinicians, candidate outreach, employee referral automation, hiring events, mobile app; customers named including Fairview, BrightSpring Health Services, Ascension at Home, BJC HealthCare, Saint Luke's Health System, Children's Hospital Los Angeles and Mercy), retrieved September 2026. Repositioning verified first-hand: eqorefer.com returns an HTTP 301 permanent redirect to hellora.com, and the destination site makes no mention of the former Eqo name. No price published.
  • Teamable (AI-driven search across the web and employee networks, employee networks as searchable talent pools, personalised message composition, automated reply detection and routing, unified pipeline view, conversational AI follow-up and scheduling, 40+ ATS integrations; stated 1,000+ companies and 500M+ AI-enhanced candidate profiles; customer claims of tripled hires per quarter and a 50% pipeline / 35% diversity pipeline increase), retrieved September 2026. Noted absence: no customers named; testimonials carry first names and job titles only. No price published.
  • Rewordin, Employee Referral Program Statistics 2026 — source for the 71% of employers running a formal programme, the 80%+ paying bonuses above $1,000 a hire, and the 2% reporting that the programme meets its hiring goals. Underlying primary sources are cited in that article.
  • Google Search Central — Review snippet structured data (rating genuineness and visibility requirements), retrieved September 2026.

Stated assumptions. The agency-fee arithmetic in section 3 uses a 20% contingency fee on first-year salary. That sits inside the commonly quoted 15–25% range but is our assumption rather than a sourced figure; substitute your own rate and the break-even salary moves proportionally. Bonus figures in the software-share table are illustrative round numbers, anchored to the finding that over 80% of employers pay more than $1,000 a hire.

MK

Maciej Kamieniak

Founder & CEO, Rewordin

Maciej builds Rewordin's global gift-card rewards platform and works on the layer these referral systems hand off to rather than the one they occupy — the catalog coverage, local denominations and delivery problems that decide whether a referral bonus actually reaches the person who earned it, including the ones who are not on your payroll. Every vendor claim in this guide is attributed and dated to the vendor's own published page, absences of published pricing and customer evidence are recorded rather than filled in from aggregators, and Rewordin is excluded from the ranking because we do not run referral programmes.

NK

Natalia Kamieniak

CFO at Rewordin

Natalia leads finance at Rewordin and reviewed the commercial sections of this guide — the per-hire and per-employee arithmetic derived from ERIN's published tiers, the share-of-cost comparison against referral bonus benchmarks, and the agency-fee break-even table — against each vendor's published terms, and insisted the 20% agency fee be labelled as an assumption rather than presented as a sourced rate.

Related reading

StatisticsEmployee Referral Program Statistics 2026: What the Verified Data Actually ShowsGuideEmployee Referral Bonuses: The Complete 2026 Strategy GuideSoftware ComparisonBest Gift Card API Providers in 2026: 7 Platforms ComparedSoftware ComparisonBest Employee Onboarding Software 2026: 9 Platforms ComparedTax & ComplianceAre Gift Cards Taxable to Employees? IRS Rules for 2026GuideHow to Improve Employee Retention in 2026: 10 Proven Strategies